November garden update

November has been a month of mixed weather and very little rain, like my fellow gardeners in South Australia I have been doing a lot of watering.

photos 950

The flowers in my spring garden are slowly fading still giving me a beautiful display though, my buddleja davidii royal red is coming into blossom, the perfume and tiny flowers that make up the flower head are stunning.

photos 965

I was late in planting my main summer crops so most of them have only been in the ground for a month.  All of the tomatoes this year I have grown from seed and are new varieties, I’m really looking forward to the harvest this year, new tastes, shapes, colors and sizes. I am planning on planting some more tomatoes in January  for a late summer/autumn crop.Below are the varieties I have planted.

  1. Cherokee Purple
  2. Brandywine
  3. Black Krim
  4. Mini amish paste
  5. Pink bumble bee
  6. Black cherry

I’m making a greater effort to supply my family with lettuces, I don’t want to buy any salad greens ever again!  I have  a dedicated bed set up, installed the brown dripper hose with 150mm spacing’s which makes for intensive planting, made a seed frame which will allow seeds to germinate in a protected space and the shade cloth keeps the ground moist for longer and lets the water through gently.  The bed is covered by white shade cloth which gives 50% shade, this will be on permanently over the summer.  So I think I have all the bases covered to achieve this goal!

Harvesting

Lots of rhubarb, the last of the celery, strawberries, beetroot, my first mini chocolate capsicum,some basil and lettuce.  Herbs – sorrel, thyme oregano, dill. With the promise of much more to come

Planting

I have bush beans in and want to grow a tall climbing bean so will have to get onto that. Lots of different lettuces.

To do

Keep on top of regular seed planting, I have a couple of beds which I will change to the 150mm dripper hose and like most gardeners in the southern hemisphere, get ready to net the fruit trees.

photos 947

Thanks to the girls from Garden share collective,who each month encourage us to share our gardens and what we are growing.

TheGardenShareCollective300pix1

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “November garden update

  1. I love your garden. It’s coming along beautifully. The cottage garden patch in the first photo is particularly stunning.

    At the end of summer I’d love to hear your assessment of the different tomato varieties you are growing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am sure I would have said this previously but I really, really really love your brick raised beds. I look forward to following how your tomato varieties progress, I don’t have any of those one planted. Have a great month.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi, I found your blog recently and think your garden looks great! Interested to hear about the different tomato varieties too. I love your idea of using the shade cloth to protect the lettuce, I too would love to be able to grow all our lettuce without it being cooked to a crisp each summer, thanks for the idea i will give it a go in my garden.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

