Wildflower Wednesday

Once a month fellow gardener Gail from clay and limestone invites us to share the wildflowers we have in our gardens.

I was really scratching my head to find something to share today!  I have a tub where I collect the tags of the plants I have planted and yesterday I was investigating them all looking for some Australian plants.  In the end I did find something to share and it has inspired me to plant some more Australian wildflowers.

photos 558

Ptilotus exaltatus also pink mulla mulla or joey has a unique pink flower which looks like a fluffy foxes tail.  I think it looks like a plant you would expect to see in dry conditions, the flower heads sit upon single stems with a few leathery dark green leaves at the base of the plant.  It is a small shrub growing to 20 – 30cm tall, it is widespread from the North-West coast into the Northern Territory,  which are some of our driest parts of Australia.

photos 557

I saw this plant for the first time last year at a big nursery I think they were a new nursery release last summer and were selling for about $15.  I can remember eyeing them off every time I went to the nursery but thought they were too expensive, I was very lucky to receive one for a birthday present from a dear friend which is why I can share it with you today.

photos 561

I think it is a plant that looks better planted in a group which I think I will do, the seeds are available from Australian seed, in fact they have a great range of native seeds with all the required germination information.

Do you grow wildflowers/natives in your garden?

12 thoughts on “Wildflower Wednesday

  1. I am steadily changing my new old garden to our own wildflowers. I can support the insects and birds and enjoy flowers that are unique to my own country. But we do have an Australian brush cherry that has seeded itself from our neighbour’s hedge, and their bottlebrush is popular with the sunbirds.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I recognized this plant immediately! You might wonder how, but earlier this summer our large gardening group held its annual garden walk. One of the gardens on the walk was huge, but much of it had been planted by a professional landscaping service. In one of the large containers was this Ptilotus, and nobody knew what it was. Everyone who visited that garden wanted to know its name, and after some research, someone finally contacted the nursery who planted it and told them it was this pink mulla. I have a feeling there is going to be a run on this nursery next spring with everyone wanting this plant:) How interesting that this “exotic” addition to our Illinois gardens is a native in Australia–thanks so much for highlighting it for Wildflower Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The Royal Botanical Gardens in Ontario planted a section of their display gardens with this plant. It is so accommodating – especially when it’s dry and hot. We’re often encouraged to plants from Australia so that we won’t use as much water in the garden. Thanks so much for sharing this pretty specimen!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

