My Inaugural Greenhouse review – August

Welcome to my first greenhouse review, I have been inspired by Julie from Peonies & Posies who each month updates us on the happenings in her greenhouse.  Julie and some of the other bloggers who share their greenhouses are from the Northern hemisphere where they would experience similar challenges with the cold as I do with the heat in my greenhouse.

photos 532

I remember when we moved to our home a greenhouse was one of the first things I wanted for my garden. I started off with a plastic greenhouse that got broken into by thieves looking for some ‘medicinal weeds’ another time there was a rat in there and the dog who was trying to get in had the plastic in her mouth and was tugging on it so violently made the shelves fall over with all of my newly sprouted seedlings.  I can remember Mr.GH showing me the destruction when I got home and the efforts he had made to try and get the tiny seedlings back into the punnets knowing I would be upset.

First greenhouse

First greenhouse

A new greenhouse was designed and built for me by Mr GH for me in 2009.  He built it using salvaged steel for the frame and we clad it in clear polycarb sheets, this product reduces the heat transmission and provides protection from UV rays.  We placed the greenhouse in the right hand corner of the yard and the size is 2600 x 1900 x 2200.  

We have since moved the greenhouse to its new position which is on the left hand side of the yard, it is in the corner of the orchard now and gets more shade in summer from the peach and apricot tree’s.  Heat is the biggest challenge for me with the greenhouse.  We have just recently installed an automatic vent opener which has made a huge difference already in reducing the inside temperature, we will also install a louvre  window in the bottom section of one of the walls for increased airflow for when the door is not open.

The first thing I did was give it a good clean out as it had become a store area and get rid of most of the red back spiders, I salvaged a new white shelf that some-one kindly left out the front of their house, potted up some pretty polyanthus for colour for inside and outside some winter flowering annuals.  I have moved the mint to the greenhouse we all know mint does not like the cold and it has bounced back beautifully and I have the first of my spring/summer seedlings in the greenhouse.  I have 2 trays currently in the germination tray and will move them in once they have sprouted.

Seeing and reading about other bloggers greenhouses has been a great inspiration for me, It has given me the motivation and determination to make my greenhouse more useful and find solutions to the challenges with the heat, thanks everyone!

2 thoughts on “My Inaugural Greenhouse review – August

  1. Thank you Jill for joining in this month. I must apologise for being so late in visiting – it has been a very busy two months with holidays and family at home & I am only just catching up. Your greenhouse looks very inviting and I enjoyed reading about how you got to where you are with it. I had one of those plastic greenhouses a few tears ago & had endless problems – it constantly blew over and our pet rabbit chewed his way in and ate all my seedlings.

    I do hope you will join in again in September – it will be so interesting to see things in reverse – you will be planting out seedlings as I retreat inside my greenhouse for the winter!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

