Pruning, chipping, composting

3 of the BIG jobs in the garden, pruning, chipping, composting and I am trying to do them as a batch, mentally make it a few smaller jobs, divide it into areas to make it seem less of a BIG job.

photos 229

I have started with my kitchen garden and pruned a couple of  other perennials to collect this batch of green waste to go through my mulcher. This is the first mulcher I have owned, it’s 2nd hand from gumtree, an Ozito electric  mulcher.  It’s not really very good, as you can see  in the photo it churns and crushes the branches rather than chip the material.  My father-in-law teases me about his massive mulcher that he has to move around with his quad bike! While I dream about my dream mulcher the Greenfield Piece-maker, don’t all gardeners dream about a tool/machine that will make life so much easier?

I was on a roll, pruned, mulched and composted all in the same morning.  I have been making compost for many years and after lots of reading have come up with the below recipe:

Compost Recipe

Base ingredients:  I bucket of vegie scraps or 1 bucket  of green material add to this:

1 item from the  below Nitrogen column

  • 1 bucket manure
  • 2 cups of of pelleted manure
  • 1 cup of blood and bone
  • 1 bucket of lucerne

And any 2 items from the below Carbon column

  • 1 bucket of straw
  • 1 bucket of paper
  • 1 bucket of leaves
  • 1 bucket of sawdust
  • 1 bucket sugarcane  mulch

Add the carbon and nitrogen in layers with your green wasted, keep it moist and turn it to keep it oxygenated.  I have a closed compost system an Aerobin which I have been very happy with, together we have produced tons of good compost.

Do you mulch and compost your garden waste?

photos 317

9 thoughts on “Pruning, chipping, composting

  1. I dream of a shredder too! Any shredder is better than none I think. We chop up all our woody waste by hand which is extremely hard work then add it to our large compost piles in the garden. It takes a long time to rot down but eventually we have lovely friable compost full of worms.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Pruning, chipping, composting | gardening hands | WORLD ORGANIC NEWS

  3. Haha, we gardeners are predictable like that. Who wouldn’t lust after a giant shredder? I’ve accepted that it’s probably not going to happen for me; it’s too much money for doing what can be done in other ways. So I’ve taken to spreading out windrows of material and running over them with the mower. It works great!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. It looks like it saves time both in chopping and in composting, so at least there’s that! I tend to just chop branches into smaller pieces and bury them in established beds or use them as the base layer when building new beds. They help jump start the fungal mat and retain water below the surface before finally breaking down.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I have a gas-powered chipper that I save only for big jobs (tree pruning) finding easier (lazier?) ways to manage woody plants. I prefer running over smaller branches with the mower, using as a base for new piles (I compost-pile-garden, remember?) or making brush-y hide-y spots for frogs and snakes. Couldn’t live without compost and I am constantly on the hunt for materials to ‘feed’ my pile! It’s like having a fifth child.

    Great post! I hope you get your dreamy new tool one day.

    Liked by 1 person

      • If I could figure out how to give you mine, I would! We used to use it every 3-4 months, but now I just pile up the twigs (for the animals) and any leftover gets chipped with the annual tree-pruning (theirs is MUCH bigger and better) right into my garden.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

