Seeds or Seedlings…. that is the question

I love seeds, when you see that first show of life, a little green head poking out, for me it is one of the most exciting things!

This time of year in both hemispheres of the world fellow gardeners and bloggers are getting their seed fixes.  I have seen magnificent seed charts, read a great story about obsessive seed disorder (O-Seed-D) and spent hours deciding what seeds to plant myself. All that time I have spent deciding and looking has made me late in planting the seeds I need for my autumn/winter harvest.

Hello seedlings!  The saviors of my garden for those many times when:

  • I have been late in planting seeds
  • Or when I have neglected my seeds and they have dried out
  • Not many have germinated
  • I just need 1 or 2 more for that spot
  • They have been reduced!  I can almost never refuse a seedling in need of a loving home…

So in my garden both seed and seedling have a place, how about in yours?

4 thoughts on “Seeds or Seedlings…. that is the question

  1. I have both. This year with winter being so long and so cold I have to buy already sprouted plants. I can’t help but feel like I’ve failed somehow as seeds are what I do. I will get over it I’m sure as I am enjoying the fresh veggies. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

