Is that a rat I can smell…..

Our dog is a super snooper, if she is snooping there is a rodent somewhere that we can’t see and she will do whatever she can to get to it.

she has the scent

she has the scent

This is a gardening blog why am I writing about rats?  Because as Mr gardening hands says:

“they are everywhere, don’t worry about them, they won’t come near you, they are as afraid of you as you are of them.”

I’m going to put it out there, I am frightened of rats, ok and mice as well,so when the dog starts snooping around I am on alert.  You know what I mean, heart starts racing, eye’s darting around everywhere looking for that rat that is going to run straight at me up my leg and…… I don’t know what really.  Still it’s enough for me to stand inside while I send out the hunting party, Mr GH and dog to find out what is capturing her attention. photos 136 Now this post is really a word of warning to fellow gardeners, this time last year my kitchen garden was stripped bare of it’s chilies by rats, the one’s that I shouldn’t be able to see but last year our dog and the neighbor’s cats couldn’t keep them under control because I could see them. I grow basil in my kitchen garden and around this time of year in Adelaide it’s going to seed.  I love  the leggy seed heads on the basil, so did the rats last year they were all over it, at night I could see them climbing the branches eating the seeds.  I  even found the seeds heads stored away in between some bricks on the other side of the yard, that is how much they like them.

rat re-enactment

rat re-enactment

I had forgotten about all of that until the other day when the dog was going mad around the kitchen garden, I saw the seed heads on the basil and remembered last year! Yikes, that is not going to happen again, off with their heads! photos 176

2 thoughts on “Is that a rat I can smell…..

Leave a Reply

