Pickled Jalapenos

photos 175

The weekend just gone temps were 39 and 41 degrees here in Adelaide, way too hot for me to be out in the garden so instead I pickled the jalapenos I picked earlier in the week.

I mentioned in my last post that we LOVE jalapenos, I had a pretty small harvest last year and we didn’t have enough to last us through the year, it was tragic.  That was not going to happen again!

I planted 7 plants this year and covered the bed they are in with the white bird exclusion netting for the first time, it has been a great success and will use it on more beds.  It has stopped the blackbirds from digging up the bed which has allowed the mulch to stay in place and do it’s job over summer, the soil has been protected and the plants have been healthy.

Ready to go

Ready to go

starting weight

starting weight

The recipe I am sharing is one I got from my mum, a family heirloom, enjoy!

Pickled Jalapenos

For every kilogram of jalapeño’s you will need the following, adjust the recipe according to the quantity of chillies you have.


INGREDIENTS

  •  625ml vinegar of your choice I use white vinegar.
  • 625ml water
  • 50g sea salt or pickling salt, non-iodized salt
  • 20 peppercorns
  • 20 mustard seeds

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Sterilise your jars and lids immediately before adding chillies.  I boil then in a pot on the stove and take them only when I am ready to fill them.
  2. Wash your chillies and with gloves on start slicing them into 5mm thick pieces – don’t worry about being too precise.
  3. Once they are all sliced I put the vinegar, water and salt into a large saucepan and bring it to a slow boil.
  4. Start filing your sterilised jars with the jalapeños leaving a centimetre or so at the top.
  5. Drop in a few peppercorns and mustard seeds.
  6. Carefully pour the hot liquid into your filled jars to cover the jalapeños.
  7. Immediately put the lids on as tight as you can and leave to cool.
  8. Once cool the middle of the lids should of popped in, if not it means they are not air tight and I would put the jar in the fridge and use immediately or do that jar again.

NOTES

Leave your delicious pickles for at least 2wks before opening.  I think they reach their peak about 1mth after pickling.  They gradually become softer over time and best eaten within 12mths.

6 thoughts on “Pickled Jalapenos

Leave a Reply

